Main menu


What is the language of Australia?


Australia or the Commonwealth of Australia is a country and continent located in the Southern Hemisphere and Southeast Asia in the western Pacific Ocean, and the continent is surrounded on the north by the Timor Sea, the Arvora Sea, and the Strait of Tours in the east, the Coral Sea and the Tasman Sea, and on the south the Bass Pass, and the Indian Ocean surrounds the continent from the south and west.

What is the language of Australia
What is the language of Australia?

The language of the inhabitants of Australia

Australia does not have an official language, but English is the de facto national language, as Australian English is the most common language in society, and it is similar to English in grammar and spelling, with some clear differences.

Statistics from 2006 indicated that English is the language most spoken in homes, reaching 79% of the population, while the rest of the languages ​​spoken are Italian 4.6%, Greek 1.3%, and Cantonese 1.2%.

The Australian Early Development Index mentioned that the most common languages ​​spoken by children after English are Arabic, then Vietnamese, then Greek, Chinese, and Hindi, respectively.

There are beliefs that the indigenous languages ​​of Australia before its first European contact numbered 200-300 languages, but only 70 of them survive.

Residents of Australia

The continent has a population of about 22.6 million people, and about 60% of the population is concentrated in or near state capitals, such as Sydney, Melbourne, Brisbane, Perth, and Adelaide, and about 57% of the population lives in Victoria or New South Wales.

Religion in Australia

Australia has no official religion. The Australian constitution prohibits the federal government from imposing any religion or imposing religious rituals, as well as prohibiting the exercise of any religious freedom.

According to 2011 AD statistics, the percentage of Australian Christians was 61.1%, who have no religion 22.3%, and 7.2% are non-Christian religions, the largest of which is Buddhism, followed by Islam, then Hinduism, and then Hinduism. Judaism, respectively.

Also, a global statistic conducted by a German non-profit organization indicated that three out of four Australians do not profess any religion, or do not consider religion a necessity.

They occupied the continent of Australia

40 thousand years ago and in the late eighteenth century before the occupation of the Europeans, the indigenous people of Australia were the ones who inhabited it, and they belonged to about 250 linguistic families, then in 1606 AD the Dutch navigable continent was discovered and then in 1770 AD Britain seized the eastern half From Australia. The first complete invasion of Australia was on the 26th of January 1788 AD, then the population grew steadily in the following decades, and the rest of the continent was discovered, and then five colonies were added for self-rule, which are subject to the Crown Prince of Britain.

On 1 January 1901 AD, the six colonies became a federation, the Australian Commonwealth was formed, and at that point, a stable liberal democratic form of government called the Commonwealth System was formed.

be followingا

Distinguish learning new